Gen2 Devices: FW Update Required / Gen2 Geräte: FW-Update erforderlich ×

Linear Actuator

Stayeazy

Is there a Shelly relay switch that can run a 12vdc linear actuator. I’m assuming it will need 2 relays, one for each direction.  I’m looking for it to be powered by 12vdc as well. I’m planning on running it with a car battery hooked up to battery tender so that it will work if there is no power.   The actuator will open and close a chicken coop door so it needs to be reliable. 

Both sound promising. I have limited experience so instruction would have to be geared toward a 7 y/o…make that 5 y/o for both wiring and getting it (them) to work on my network. Which do you think would be most reliable?  

• Members
Posted (edited)

Found a solution which can be calibrated:

image.thumb.jpeg.4029127529e96d922baddb900ed7fa47.jpeg

The only trade-off is two power supplies are needed. The Shelly 2.5 may be easily replaced by Shelly plus 2PM. Beneath the two 12V DC power supplies two relays with 12V DC coils are used (A and B). Both relays need a single NO/NC contact.

Addendum: For a chicken door, calibration is not necessary. Will look for another sketch…

Edited by thgoebel
  • Like 1

• Administrators
15 minutes ago, thgoebel said:

Found a solution which can be calibrated:

Wow! Very nice solution. Thanks for that.

The basic requirement here is that there are integrated limit switches that stop the motor and thereby reduce the power consumption on the power supply, right?
The power supply's idle consumption may then need to be adjusted via Idle Power Threshold in the settings...

• Thanks 1

• Members

This sketch would be appropriate cause it uses a relay module “off-the-shelf”:

IMG_1059.thumb.jpeg.d23ed39fde53169b54537394c8fca451.jpeg

These relay modules are offered for 5V, 12V and 24V DC supply. Please use the 12V version! A Shelly UNi plus may be used alternatively. In this case pin numbering is different!

• Members
57 minutes ago, Olsche said: